Which Season of the Heart are YOU in?


I love the fall season. Like, there really is no other season that can even remotely compare to the love I have for fall. Winter is magical but soooo cold; being a Montana girl I definitely get tired of being snowed in for the millionth time that month. Spring is gorgeous but very rainy and wet. And summer…. don’t get me started! Yes, it’s fun to have vacation time and go to the beach but for me that’s about as far as it goes. The greenery starts dying, fires start up, and the heat is sweltering. Nope, summer is not for me!

But fall… fall consists of:

Cozy sweaters.

Cooler weather (yaaas).

Gorgeous fall colors.

Pumpkin spiced everything (my favorite flavor).

Harvest fun.

Did I mention pumpkin?

I know it seems a little weird that I am talking about the seasons but there is a little motive to my madness. When we think of a year in it’s entirety, we also think about the seasons it will go through; seasons of winter, spring, summer, and fall. And, when we think about the seasons we also ponder what activities we may participate in during that time and what we will avoid. Thinking about my own life, at age 23, I have gone through 92 season changes!

I believe God is a master at what He does. The seasons, ever changing and ever flowing, is a perfect example in nature that mimics the way our lives are ever changing. Call me crazy but sometimes I wonder if God intentionally created the seasons just to show us that change is inevitable but it can also be beautiful. To me,  a season changing demonstrates just how powerful and beautiful God’s handiwork is no matter what the conditions look like, you know?

I am a person who thrives on analogies, comparing two things just make sense in my brain! So, I suppose you could say God is a master of analogies because I truly see distinct similarities between the season flows in life and the season flows within a lifetime.


Gracelaced Book by Ruth Simons at Gracelaced.com

If you have been following my Instagram page lately then odds are you probably have already heard about the Gracelaced book that is launching September 1st! I, to my wonderful surprise, was one of the lucky ladies who had the opportunity to receive an advanced copy and boy was I excited. I have been following Ruth on Instagram since before I even knew how to work Instagram! At this point I am not even sure how I did find her but I do know this, her soft words have many times served as an anchor during the bleak seasons of my life. So yeah, needless to say I was beyond thrilled to not only read her book but also receive an advanced copy!

There is something truly magical about this book. I have never read anything quite like it — I don’t even have anything to compare it to — it’s so unique and breathtakingly inspirational.

Art is more than a pretty picture; it’s story telling and emotion evoking. In the Gracelaced book, Ruth uses a mixture of watercolor art and devotionals as a way to reach each person’s heart in the current season they are going through. Just like the seasons we see happening outside, each of our lives will evolve through seasons like candy. We will go through seasons of financial burden, seasons of exhaustion, seasons of pure joy, seasons of relaxation, and so much more. And because we are humans, in that very moment (or season) sometimes it’s nearly impossible to believe there will be something better or different coming.  We become overwhelmed and tell ourselves, “I just can’t do this on my own anymore!” But that’s the kicker, we were never created to live out a single season on our own! 



Gracelaced Book by Ruth Simons at Gracelaced.com


“To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven: A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted; A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away; A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak; A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.” Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

Just like the seasons of this world, our lives will also be constantly evolving and changing. However, there is one constant in the mist of it all and that’s Jesus!

Within the Gracelaced book, Ruth takes you on a journey through each season (winter, spring, summer, fall) we face as humans in our walk with Christ to discover (or rediscover) how to be “deeply routed in God’s faithful promises” no matter the current journey we are on.

In the winter season of our life we are learning how to REST in Him as we endure the hardships. 

In the spring season of our life we are learning how to REHEARSE the truth about ourselves now that the bleakness has run it’s course. 

In the summer season of our life we are RESPONDING to these truths we have learned. 

And, in the fall season of our life we are REMEMBERING who is the provider as we harvest our hard work. 



So, which season are you in?

Are you like me, resting in the winter season? Or are you somewhere else?


The Gracelaced book is available for pre-order ONE MORE DAY! Tomorrow is your final day to pre-order the book and receive a free gift compliments of sweet Ruth. If you have already preordered but have not received your gift then make sure you claim it on the Gracelaced book website. 
Tenesha's signature for The Beauty Within 31

Join the List

Copyright © 2018 · Theme by 17th Avenue